How to Delete Messages on Messenger / Facebook Messenger or Archive Them (2021 Update)
If you want to delete a particular message in Facebook Messenger or even conversations from the Facebook instant messaging application, it is possible and very easy, as you will see in today’s article.
You can also archive your conversations if you don’t want to lose them completely, and we’ll show you how to do that easily.
In today’s article, you’ll learn how to delete individual messages in Facebook Messenger, as well as how to delete or archive entire message chains in Messenger.
We’ll start with the first, because there are different methods to achieve your goal, depending on what you want to achieve.
1. to delete individual messages from Facebook Messenger
You can do this through the Facebook Messenger mobile application or through the desktop version of the application.
Since everyone mainly uses their cell phone, let’s start with the steps to delete a single message (or several, but not entire channels) on a cell phone :
After launching the Facebook Messenger application on your device, navigate to the message you want to delete and tap and hold the message.
At the bottom of the screen you will find several options, and in the lower right corner is “Delete”. Click on this button.
There are two options, as shown below:
The first message will be deleted from both your device and the chat history of the person you were chatting with. It doesn’t matter if they saw it or not – the message will be deleted from both chats.
You can then choose to only delete it from the chat history. This means that the other person will still see the message and will not know that you deleted it.
If you want to do this on your laptop or desktop computer, follow these steps:
First, go to the conversation and message you want to delete.
If you then hover over the message, two options appear: a reply option to the message (smiley face) and additional options (three dots).
Click on the dots and just select “Delete” in the new tab :
As with cell phone conversations, you will be asked if you want to remove only the conversation partner from the chat, or if you also want to remove the person you were talking to from the chat:
There you go! You’ve now removed the message from your Facebook Messenger conversation.
You can do this with sent messages (yours) or received messages (from the person you were communicating with), but remember that once deleted, messages cannot be retrieved.
In addition, received messages (sent by the other party) can only be deleted from the chat history, but not from the chat.
Delete (or archive) conversations in Facebook Messenger.
Deleting entire chats or archiving them can also be done on a laptop or computer version if you are connected to Facebook.
The advantage of archiving conversations before deleting them is that you can access them later, whereas deleted conversations are lost forever.
Archived conversations disappear from your Messenger history, but reappear when a new message is sent or received from that person.
Follow these steps to delete or archive an entire Facebook conversation on your desktop or laptop:
Press the Messages button at the top and then View All in Messenger at the bottom left.
On the left side of the screen, move the mouse pointer to the channel you want to delete, and click the colon next to that person’s name to display the menu:
From there, select the option you want: Hide (which archives your message string) or Delete – which permanently deletes the message.
If you choose the last option, you will need to reconfirm the distance. And that’s all you need to do!
To archive or delete a conversation in the Messenger application.
It is also very easy to do the same in Facebook Messenger for mobile. Launch the application on your phone and type and hold the conversation you want to delete or archive.
The menu above will appear and you just need to select “Archive” or “Delete”. It’s that simple!
When you delete or archive a Facebook conversation, your friend won’t get a notification that you’ve done so, but as we’ve said before, conversations or certain posts aren’t deleted from their device either, just yours. It’s always better than nothing if you have a few secrets to keep!
But if you don’t want to talk to that person anymore, or if you just want to block them and remove them from your contact list, you can do that too.
We wrote an article on how to remove someone from Messenger – check it out if you’re interested in how to do this.
Share this article!
Frequently asked questions
How do I delete messages when I update Messenger?
How to delete messages from Facebook Messenger – CNBC
How do you archive Messenger in 2020?
How do you archive a conversation in Messenger? ….- Facebook.
How do I delete old Messenger messages on both sides of 2020?
How to delete Facebook posts on both pages, step by step.
how to delete all messages in facebook messenger app,how to see archived messages on facebook messenger,how to delete multiple messages on messenger,how to delete messages on messenger on iphone,how to unarchive messages on messenger,how to archive messages on messenger 2020,can you still receive messages from archived chats on messenger,facebook archived messages disappeared